California Common Core State Standards Implementation

curriculum by Massupa Kaewgahya from the Noun Project

What are the Common Core State Standards? 

On August 2, 2010, the California State Board of Education (SBE) voted unanimously to adopt the National Common Core Standards. Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

The Common Core State Standards were designed with rigorous content and imbedded applications of higher order thinking skills so we can develop our students to be competitive and successful in our global economy and society.

To prepare our students, CCSS incorporates four skills of academic literacy that are essential for the 21st century. Also, known as the “4 C’s” these skills are:

  • Collaboration
  • Critical Thinking
  • Creativity
  • Communication

NUSD Gradute Profile

6 C’s and Beyond

  • Communicator
  • Critical Thinker
  • Collaborator
  • Conscientious Learner
  • Culturally Competent
  • Character

Learn more about our Graduate Profile arrow