Superintendent’s Office

Jim Hogeboom
Jim HogeboomSuperintendent
415 897-4211
jhogeboom@nusd.org

Responsible for overall operation of NUSD; Supervises Assistant Superintendents, Directors, site principals and departments; Secretary to the Board of Education; Community and Staff Communication; Formal Complaints per Board Policy 1312.3 Uniform Complaint Procedures.  

Gladys Batz
Gladys BatzExecutive Assistant to Superintendent
415 897-4211
gbatz@nusd.org

Superintendent appointments; coordination of evaluation schedule; master calendar; Board of Education agendas and minutes; board reports; board policies; formal complaints; special projects; flyer approval.

Leslie Benjamin
Leslie BenjaminPublic Information Officer
415 897-4259
lbenjamin@nusd.org

Public relations; social media, media communications; information requests; Web Master; newsletters; SARCs; special projects; Community Project Liaison.

Business Services

Business Contact Sheet

Don't know who to contact?

Don't know who to contact?

Consult this handy guide of who to reach for what business service

Business Services Guide

Yancy Hawkins
Yancy HawkinsAssistant Superintendent- Business & Operations
yhawkins@nusd.org
415-493-4260
Ann Luckiesh
Ann LuckieshExecutive Assistant
aluckiesh@nusd.org
415-493-4260
Nancy Walker
Nancy WalkerDirector of Fiscal Services
nwalker@nusd.org
415-493-4219
Jennifer Frost
Jennifer FrostBusiness Manager
jfrost@nusd.org
415-493-4212

Payroll and Benefits

PAYROLL MAIN # 4270
(415-493-4270)

Nellie Gogas
Nellie GogasPayroll (H-N)
ngogas@nusd.org
415-493-4213
Abbie St. Marie Kearns
Abbie St. Marie KearnsPayroll (O-Z & Charter)
astmariekearns@nusd.org
415-493-4215

Suzette Donnelly
Suzette DonnellySuzette Donnelly, Payroll (A-G)
sdonnelly@nusd.org
415-493-4208

Accounts Payable

Susie Treanor
Susie TreanorAccount Tech III
streanor@nusd.org
415-493-4203
Rob Ghiorzi
Rob GhiorziAccounts Payable
rghiorzi@nusd.org
415-493-4261

Misc Services

Renee Bracken
Renee BrackenAccount Tech
rbracken@nusd.org
415-493-4262
Jessie Vasquez
Jessie VasquezPrint Shop / Mail Room
jvasquez@nusd.org
415-493-4243
Janet Filipelli
Janet FilipelliAccounting Technician II
jfilipelli@nusd.org
(415)493-4257

Education Services

Ivan Chaidez
Ivan ChaidezAssistant Superintendent, Educational Services

Curriculum and Instruction

Julia Kempkey
Julia KempkeyDirector, Instruction & Innovation
(415) 897-4269
jkempkey@nusd.org
Michelle Stephens
Michelle StephensElementary Curriculum & Instruction Coordinator
(415) 897-4269
mstephens@nusd.org
Jennifer Larson
Jennifer LarsonSecondary Curriculum & Instruction Coordinator
(415) 897-4269
jenlarsonandrews@nusd.org
Melissa Diaz
Melissa Diaz English Learner Coordinator
(415) 897-4269
mdiaz@nusd.org
Suzanne Hirshfield
Suzanne HirshfieldDistrict Administrative Coordinator
(415) 897-4269
shirshfield@nusd.org
Emily Hudson
Emily Hudson Administrative Secretary
(415) 897-4269
ehudson@nusd.org
Sally Carbonaro
Sally CarbonaroAdministrative Secretary
(415) 897-4269
scarbonaro@nusd.org
Laurie Campbell
Laurie CampbellInstructional Coach
lcampbell@nusd.org

Student Services

Mary Pritchard
Mary PritchardCoordinator of Student Services
mpritchard@nusd.org
(415)493-4288
Marcia Carey
Marcia CareyAdministrative Assistant III
mcarey@nusd.org
intradistrict@nusd.org
(415) 897-4288

Special Education

DEPARTMENT FACSIMILE
415-897-4238

Liz Smith
Liz SmithDirector of Special Education
415-493-4267
mwsmith@nusd.org
Karin Jinbo
Karin JinboCoordinator, Behavioral Health
415-493-4274
kjinbo@nusd.org
Andrew Weiher
Andrew WeiherBehaviorist
415-798-5320
aweiher@nusd.org
Kanani Cherry
Kanani CherrySecondary Program Specialist
415-493-4273
kcherry@nusd.org
Hazel Foster
Hazel FosterPre-k/Elementary Program Specialist
415-493-4272
hfoster@nusd.org
Yvette Garcia Thornburgh
Yvette Garcia ThornburghEarly Intervention Program Sepcialist
(415)883-3942
ygarcia@nusd.org
Mary Hamilton
Mary HamiltonAdministrative Secretary
415-493-4265
mhamilton@nusd.org
Helen Hughes Tome
Helen Hughes TomeAdministrative Secretary
hhughestome@nusd.org
415-493-4234
Shirley Rodriguez
Shirley RodriguezAdmistrative Secretary Early Intervention
srodriguez@nusd.org

Human Resources

Kris Cosca
Kris CoscaAssistant Superintendent, Director of Human Resources
kcosca@nusd.org
415-493-4207
Cyndee Cannon
Cyndee CannonExecutive Assistant to the Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources
ccannon@nusd.org
415-493-4207
Lillian Rincon
Lillian RinconExecutive Assistant I
lrincon@nusd.org
415-493-4246

Maintains Aesop and absence tracking; Professional Expert Agreements;observation/evaluation tracking; file maintenance;
job descriptions; TB testing and fingerprinting; Mandated Reporting; Activity Supervisor Clearance Certificate.

Janice Bacich
Janice BacichHuman Resources Specialist
jbacich@nusd.org
415-493-4275

Employee maintenance and data entry for new employees and for any changes in employment status; district and state reports and surveys;salary schedule maintenance related to negotiated increases; system and district calendar maintenance; coordinates drug testing and fingerprinting; Personnel Actions.

Ellen Christensen-Denton
Ellen Christensen-Denton Human Resources Specialist
echristensendenton@nusd.org
415-493-4248

Coordinates certificated staff personnel actions, recruitment, hiring, unit advancement, evaluation tracking, employee maintenance, and data entry.

Dana Sarubbi
Dana SarubbiBenefits & Payroll Technician
dsarubbi@nusd.org
415-493-4204

Information Technology

Sean Rozell
Sean RozellDirector of Information Technology
srozell@nusd.org
415-493-4241

Sean attended UC Berkeley and worked for UC Berkeley/NASA after graduation.  He then began working in IT for various financial industry firms for 10 years.  He switched to working in CA’s public education in 2007 and has served as the Deputy CTO and the Interim CTO for San Francisco USD and as the CTO of San Rafael City Schools before coming to Novato USD in May of 2015.  He has also served on the Board of Directors for the California Education Technology Professionals Association (CETPA).

Technology Support Services Team

NEED TECH SUPPORT?

email help@nusd.org (in emergencies dial) ext. #4299

Need support with technology in your office or classroom?

Don’t panic! Email help@nusd.org to connect with your nearest tech and get your issue resolved. In a tech emergency, you can always call extension #4299 to reach our help desk directly and summon help. The NUSD tech support team is here to help!

Ryan Green
Ryan GreenTechnology Supervisor
rgreen@nusd.org
(415)493-4239

Ryan has been working in technology for k-12 school districts since 2001.  He graduated from CSU Chico with a degree in Information and Communication Systems.  He joined NUSD in November of 2014 as the I.T. Supervisor.

Jonathan Finkle
Jonathan FinkleNetwork Analyst
jfinkle@nusd.org
415-493-4228

Jonathan Finkle has been working in the IT industry since 1998 and has been with the district since 2013. He has experience in supporting single user environments up to enterprise level systems and looks forward to supporting and helping NUSD grow.

Betsy Ussery
Betsy UsserySystems Analyst
bussery@nusd.org
415-493-4239

Betsy has been working for NUSD since 2001. She initially worked as a tech at Olive Elementary, then graduated to the District Office IT department in 2008. Betsy graduated from College of Marin with an AA in Behavioral Sciences. She now serves the District as a Systems Analyst, coordinating the installation, maintenance, and repair of important systems throughout the district.

Nonny David
Nonny DavidTechnology Support Technician III
jadavid@nusd.org
415-493-4225

Nonny Graduated from the University of Vermont with her Bachelors of Science in Secondary Education (Biology and History). She has taught, paraeducated, and supported technology as a part time hobby before deciding to make it her full time career.

Data Support Services Team

Alex Perez
Alex PerezData Systems Supervisor
aperez@nusd.org
(415)493-4245

Alex has worked in IT for 11 years, specializing in server and data systems.  He currently serves as the Data Systems Supervisor.  Studying at CSU Stanislaus and I.T.T Tech, he majored in computer sciences.  Before bringing his talents to NUSD, he previously worked at San Rafael City Schools.

Don Nicodemus
Don NicodemusSystems Analyst
dnicodemus@nusd.org
(415)493-4240

In the last  25 years, Don has worked as a Programmer, Systems Analyst, Network Administrator, IT Consultant, and Supervisor including 12 years at educational organizations ranging from K-12 and graduate institutions.  He is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley.

Joanne Briggs
Joanne BriggsStudent Systems Technician II
jbriggs@nusd.org
(415)493-4268
Craig Lubey
Craig LubeyStudent Systems Technician II
clubey@nusd.org
(415)493-4235

Maintenance, Operations, Facilities

MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS MAIN LINE
 (415) 892-1596

Mark Silva
Mark SilvaDirector of Maintenance, Operations, and Transportation
msilva@nusd.org
(415) 493-4575
Kyle Manford
Kyle ManfordSupervisor of Maintenance and Operations
kmanford@nusd.org
(415) 493-4575
Lynette Van Dalen
Lynette Van DalenAdministrative Secretary
lvandalen@nusd.org
415-493-4575
Lynette
LynetteAdministrative Secretary
@nusd.org
415-493-4575
Judge Taylor
Judge TaylorFacilities Coordinator
jtaylor@nusd.org
415-493-4205

Transportation

TRANSPORTATION
(415) 892-1598

Matt Brown
Matt BrownTransportation Supervisor
(415) 493-4580
Kevin Gomes
Kevin GomesMechanic Supervisor
kgomes@nusd.org
415-493-4582
Evie Hodgkinson
Evie HodgkinsonDispatcher
ehodgkinson@nusd.org
415-493-4581

NUSD does not provide home to school transportation for its general education students.  If you need help in transporting your child to school, Marin Transit and SchoolPoolMarin are good resources.

In order to serve more NUSD students, Marin Transit is changing their transportation routes as of August 4, 2013.

Click here for their July 17, 2013, press release:

New Route 151
New Route 154